MaryParadox

July 21, 2009

Cats and Rodents

Filed under: Kitties — maryparadox @ 4:31 pm
IMG_1398

Click on the image to get a better view of the thing in Hunter's mouth.

I went to Santa Cruz to visit my family this weekend and right before I left my sister’s cat caught a gopher. We were standing in front of the house and my sisters cat, Boo, who is *huge* (see below), sticks one paw into a hole in the ground and flips out this rather fat gopher. The poor little thing tried to crawl between two loose bricks, but he was too fat, and before I knew it Boo had given him a big *chomp* right in the middle. I jumped in my car and mom ran in the house…

Rachel phone 006 Rachel phone 088

Then on the way home this crazy rodent went running across the freeway right in front of my car (he made it), so I knew there was some third rodent situation coming soon.

IMG_1390

Last week I saw this cutie under a tree along the sidewalk, rooting around in the leaves.

Soooo, today when I got home from work Peter and I heard a cat hiss outside of the office door. I looked out and there was Hunter with not a leaf, cat tail, worm, or even a butterfly in her mouth, but a mouse. She was hissing at Penny because she clearly didn’t want to share. I thought the mouse was dead so didn’t think to much of it, but when Peter followed her outside to take a picture she was letting it go then chasing and re-catching it.

20090720-884 20090720-882
20090720-881 20090720-872

Then there is the case of Jeffrey, or Jessie, or “that cat is back again”. This orange cat has been showing up at our house every night at feeding time; he sits just below the back steps and stares at the house for hours until we feed him. He meows pathetically and our cats either flank him or hiss at him, but are definitely on edge when he’s around. We of course aren’t even sure what gender “Jessie” is, but one ears is clipped so I believe that means that there won’t be any baby-Jessies around any time soon.

IMG_1401

The orange blob in farthest part of the yard is Jessie. He seems to be afraid of people.

But of course we don’t want to leave Penny out. I washed a new hat I had knit for myself and left it drying on a clean white towel. Since I put towels down on most of the places where the cats sleep Penny laid down right on top of the wet hat looked quite pleased with herself.

20090720-897

Mmmmm, sleeping on mommy's knitting.

1 Comment »

  1. Cats can be so funny like that.

    Comment by Rachell — July 31, 2009 @ 2:07 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

