MaryParadox

April 8, 2009

Work Frenzy

Filed under: Work — maryparadox @ 5:18 pm

Life is kind of crazy right now. I became a “Technical Program Manager” about seven months ago, but it has only been in the last couple of months that things have ramped up to a frenzy.

All of our projects have code names, so that we can talk about them in public without people knowing what we’re talking about. My project are:

Tiber: Six engineers and one project manager. This was my first project, and the one I would be working on if I was still an engineer. My old team, and friends, work on this project.
Dnieper: Three sub-components, each with 2-3 engineers.
Dnieper 2.0: I was able to get my boss to reassign this to someone else
Liquid: This is a huge project and my boss manages it. I’m assigned several sub-components.
Granada: This will be a rather large project with sub-components, at least three engineers.

It’s too much. My boss reassigned Dnieper 2.0, and Dnieper 1.0 will be completed by the end of the month. That still leaves me with three rather large projects.

I’m stressed out, I don’t sleep well (I never did, but now it’s worse), I have to travel, and I don’t feel like I ever have time to enjoy myself. Part of the problem is owning a home now, so instead of doing fun things on the weekend I strip wallpaper and landscape the yard. Some part of me realizes that I must think those things are fun, or I would do them, but I also miss hanging out with friends and mountain biking.

I have to go to Hsinchu the third week of this month for Granada. I really want a vacation, but this is the kind of job where things don’t stop when you go out of town, they just pile-up until you get back. I also don’t really want to go anywhere, since I have to travel for work now, but also because I don’t have anyone to go with.

Maybe I should just take a week off and stay home. I could try going mountain biking, do some house stuff, hang out with friends. The question is when?

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

