MaryParadox

February 15, 2009

Fajitas

Filed under: Cooking — maryparadox @ 6:17 pm
20090204-867

Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl.

My sister and I were talking recently about wanting to eat out less and cook at home more. We both lamented having only a couple recipes each that we would cook at home on a regular basis. I know that there are a million recipes out there, but I feel like there are only a few that succeed in making it into my weekly repetoir. My requirements are a little silly — don’t leave me with ingredients I can’t use for anything else (bunch of fresh parsley anyone?); don’t dirty every bowl, pan, and utensil in my kitchen; make a large enough batch for leftovers; be tasty as leftovers; be healthy; be largely vegetarian. Yeesh!

20090204-872

Toss together so everything is well coated.

I have a recipe for fajitas that I got from an old friend and I have modified over the years to be the vegetable-centric rainbow-fest I’m about to show you. This recipe is great the next day and is easy to modify for each person in the family. For example, I eat it in a bowl without a tortilla (I’m allergic to wheat and corn), with avocado and cheese. My boyfriend eats it with a tortilla with spicy salsa, topatillo, or kimchi (he’s Korean). It’s also great with fresh tomatoes or shredded cabbage on top. I didn’t even think I liked bell peppers until I had this recipe, and now I love them, so I suggest giving it a try, you could easily cut the recipe in half.

20090204-881

Preheat a *large* pan.

Fajitas
5 medium bell peppers of assorted colors — make a different color every time or mix them all together to make a rainbow
1 medium onion (any color), chopped
5 large garlic cloves
1 small lime
1 heaping tablespoon ground cumin
1 heaping teaspoon ground coriander
5 tablespoons Worcestershire
5 tablespoons olive oil, plus more for the pan
1/2 chicken breast, sliced

Optional:
tortilla, four or corn
shredded cheese
tomatoes
avocado – yum!
salsa
shredded cabbage

Slice bell peppers from top to bottom into thin slices and put in a large mixing bowl. Add onion chopped into thumb-nail size pieces. Add Pressed or minced garlic. Squeeze the lime juice into the bowl. Add the cumin, coriander, Worcestershire, oil, and chicken. Toss together. Add salt and pepper to taste. At this point you can let the concoction sit overnight or cook immediately.

20090204-883

Add ingredients when pan is hot. Don't add liquid!

Get out the largest pan you can find, add a little olive oil to coat the bottom and heat on high until HOT. Put the contents of the mixing bowl into the pan, but leave any liquid in the bottom of the bowl behind. Cook on high until onions have become clear.

20090204-886

Done when onions are glassy, chicken is cooked, and peppers have become soft.

Serve over warmed tortillas or directly into a bowl. Add optional toppings to your liking. Enjoy!

20090204-889

Enjoy :)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

