MaryParadox

September 12, 2008

Burning Man and More

Filed under: Burning Man — maryparadox @ 5:53 pm

Lots to post and no time!

1. I got a new job! I am now a program manager at the same company I was already working for. Previously I was a computer engineer (programmer on embedded devices). Now I manage software projects, ensuring that they get done on time and to specification. More stress, but hopefully more interesting. Mostly I’m doing it because I wasn’t that great of an engineer but I suspect I could be great at this.

2. I’m off to the Ukraine tomorrow for work, then hitting Paris on the way back for a week. Peter is flying out to meet me and my coworker Adam. Adam’s girlfriend Kate will be flying out with Peter and we are renting an apartment in the city. Hopefully pictures to come.

3. I went to burning man! I posted the pictures to flickr but many people requested that they be kept private (I wonder why?!) I’ll just link to a couple here and if you want to see them all you can email me.

Giant Walking Spider

Winner Coolest Thing: Giant Walking Spider

Interactive Art Piece (and my silly outfit)

Interactive Art Piece (and my silly outfit)

Charles

Charles

Nong

Nong

Logan

Logan

Kevin

Kevin

Dawn

Dawn

Me

Me

He built this whole structure, bar, made his own beer and his own rum!

Corey: He built this whole structure, bar, made his own beer and his own rum!

Their camp gave away home-grown melons!

Bobby and Ana-Catrina: Their camp gave away home-grown melons!

Corey and me

Corey and me

Gardner, Corey, and Devin

Gardner, Corey, and Devin

Amazing sculpture and a little girl dancing in front.

Amazing sculpture and a little girl dancing in front.

Devin resting during the heat of the day.

Devin resting during the heat of the day.

Trying to read in between sand storms.

Trying to read in between sand storms.

Chillin in the sand storm.

Chillin in the sand storm.

The burn in the distance.

The burn in the distance.

The whole camp right before packing up.

The whole camp right before packing up.

Gratuitous driving home shot.

Gratuitous driving home shot.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

