MaryParadox

August 7, 2008

Gluten Free Muesli and Granola

Filed under: Cooking — maryparadox @ 4:17 am

For the sake of full disclosure I have to tell you that about a year ago I found out I am allergic to the American diet: wheat, corn, and soy, and additionally peanuts, walnuts, and scallops. I spent more than six years going to doctors and having them turn me away with a diagnosis of “irritable bowel syndrome”, for which there is no treatment, because apparently it means “we don’t know what is wrong with you.” Take my advise, if you have medical problems keep trying new doctors until you find one that knows what they’re doing! (If you live in the Palo Alto, CA area I can recommend one). I am lucky that my allergies are mild and I will just get a stomach ache, gas, or diarrhea, rather than, say, anaphylactic shock if I eat something I shouldn’t. I wish I could tell you that I never eat the things I’m allergic to, but I would be telling a big fat lie. I have very low self control when it comes to… anything with sugar.

I try at the very least to start out my morning right, to inspire me to make it through the whole day without sampling the banana bread someone left in the kitchen at work. I worked out a very simple recipe for muesli that I love and am experimenting with one for “crunchy” granola. Try them out and let me know what you think!

Gluten-Free Muesli
4 cups Bob’s Red Mill Certified Gluten Free Oats
3 cups puffed rice like rice krispies or mix in part “nutty rice” which is similar but harder and crunchier.
1 cup sliced almonds
1 cup raisins
1 cups dates, chopped to the size of raisins
Toss and store all ingredients in a giant Tupperware with a tight lid. I leave a 1 cup measuring cup in the Tupperware so I can control my portions. I keep meaning to calculate the calories for this, so check back for that. I buy all my ingredients in the bull section of the hippy food store, except for the oats which come in prepackaged bags. The oats can be hard to find but I had good luck asking my grocer to carry them, and you can also order them online here:
http://www.bobsredmill.com I would love to give you the direct link to the page but their web site is acting up at the moment (and they usually seemed to be sold out).

Crunchy Gluten-Free Granola
3 cups oats
1 cup dried coconut
1/4 cup canola oil
1/2 cup raw cashews
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup good honey
Pinch cinnamon
Pinch salt
Preheat oven to 375. Bake for 15 minutes, stir, bake 5 minutes more. Remove when color becomes toasted, checking often. I burned mine the first time and it tasted pretty bad, I plan on tasting the second attempt for breakfast tomorrow morning. Original recipe courtesy of smitten kitchen can be found here: http://smittenkitchen.com/2007/10/pumpkin-butter-and-pepita-granola/
Tip: if you do the oil before the honey the honey won’t stick to the measuring cup!

Burned granola -- icky

Hope for a better granola

Breakfast update:
The new granola was much better, very light and crisp, though with the memory of the burnt version in my mind it colored the flavor a little bit. I was actually trying to make a crunchy granola, one that I could mix with plain yogurt and bananas, so I’ll probably try something different next time, but keep this recipe on file. My very first granola attempt was using a different recipe based on this one by Shauna Ahern — the Gluten-Free Girl: http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/2006/11/oh-my-god-granola.html
That version had had good crunch, but came out very bland, which was probably my fault since I skipped half of the ingredients. I am terribly lazy and cheap and if I don’t have something on hand, haven’t heard of it before, or know I’ll never use up the rest of that bottle of cranberry juice, I’ll frequently skip it in a recipe. I think if I take the baking directions from Shauna’s recipe and put them together with the ingredients from smitten kitchen’s then I’ll get something in the right ballpark. Keep your eyes out for an update!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

